Archive for May 31st, 2008

h1

Bowen Designs’ Colossus (Super Chrome Version)!

May 31, 2008

I just bit the bullet and paid big money for this baby.

I present BD’s Super Chrome Colossus:

I’ve been looking to add more X-Men to my growing collection of this series by going after the more recognisable characters and this guy was up for grabs on Evil Bay. He normally goes for much more and I decided I’d be able to live with the minor defects that were raised by the seller for the price point he was offering. Even better, he was more than willing to ship to Singapore!

For a heavy hitter, this statue was surprisingly light! And my first impression on laying eyes on him was ‘SHINY.’

 

Yes, the super chrome version of colossus is a real sight to behold, and the chrome really adds to the realism of the character.

Unfortunately, while the chrome is a nice touch, it is not evenly done. I can’t say if this is limited to a factory defect on my piece, but I could see areas on the statue where the chrome was not as evenly applied as the rest. I couldn’t get the pictures to show up this difference though.

Sadly, these areas mar the overall beauty of the piece.

Facial sculpt is acceptable, but not spectacular. Ironically, much of the facial details are lost in the shiny chrome of the piece. It’s only upon closer inspection that you can see the furrowed brow and steely determination in Colossus’ eyes.

Colossus Loved His New Dentist

The pose of the piece (I suppose this is a museum pose) is unimaginative at best. While I may possibly be biased against museum poses, I believe there are museum pieces that do truly convey a sense of presence, eg. Classic Thor, Classic Captain America, Gambit, to name a few. Unfortunately, for this offering, there seems to be something sorely lacking that I can’t quite place my finger on.

Musculature is perfectly done, and the statue does convey the relative size of the character to the rest of the X-Men.

All said, I still feel Colossus is a worthy addition to any X-Men collection, the two redeeming factors being the chrome and the musculature. I’m glad I did not go for the painted version because I feel it detracts from the feeling of the original character, and lessens the presence of the statue. I’d think it would have just reduced the allure of the statue even further.

It isn’t until he stands next to the rest of the X-Men pieces that I have that Colossus really jumps out at you. After my next review, I’m planning to take a nice long video of my X-Men collection sitting pretty in my re-arranged cabinet. Until then, you’ll have to make do with a teaser picture.

A teaser for for next statue review:

Teaser for my Avengers collection, by the way (couldn’t resist taking the shot since I was already there with the camera on hand):